Hello world!

3 Sep

Exactly one week ago I received an email that made me jump for joy and then cry – I had been accepted on to a Faber Academy course.  It’s taken me all week to decide whether or not I believe in myself and my abilities enough to make the considerable financial investment and go on the course.  Well, here I am blogging about it, so the answer is “Yes”.  I’ve done it, I’ve enroled.  All I need to do now is prove to myself and to my financial backers (ie the husband) that I can do it.

The cost of the course has also made me look at what I’ve been doing for the last few months since I gave up work.  Well, I’ve written lots of new short stories, have completed a script that has been on the go for about 10 years and have lots more jottings in my notebooks.  I’ve won £100 in the Eileen Gilmour Awards and made £60 from a Take a Break letter.  Other than that it is 50p a time at YouGov surveys http://my.yougov.com/go.aspx?id=0b2862aa-feb1-4ae0-8893-98ec9e284592  Now I really need to start earning proper money and view myself as a professional writer.  So here goes. 

I’m starting my Faber course in October, and hope to keep you all up-to-date with the highs and lows of that.  I know it’s going to be exhausting, but the alternative of not really giving my dream a chance isn’t an option anymore.

One Response to “Hello world!”

  1. Mr WordPress September 3, 2010 at 1:31 pm #

    Hi, this is a comment.
    To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Scottish Writers' Centre

Company No: SC349247 - Charity No: SC040823

paulahunterblog

Stumbling about gob-smacked by the world

Sarah Tinsley

The Power of Words

Sally Jenkins

A Writer on Writing, Reading and Life

MorgEn Bailey - Editor, Comp Columnist/Judge, Tutor and Writing Guru

A wealth of writing-related goodies from Morgen With An E (writer, editor, tutor, speaker and oh yes, blogger)

The Bath Novel Award

two international competitions for unpublished & independently published novelists

JoUnwin

Helping authors get their books published

Zoë Strachan

News from www.zoestrachan.com

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

The Reading Room (Seòmar Leughaidh)

Promoting all things writerly on the Isle of Skye

Wee Scoops

Measure for Measure

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

CATHERINE RYAN HOWARD

She turns coffee into books so she can afford to buy more coffee. And more books.

Blog About Writing

Just another WordPress.com site

makemeafrock

I make nice frocks and write average poetry. And there's a bit of embroidery and the occasional rant.

Help! I Need a Publisher!

Writing and the Creative Process

Nail Your Novel

Nail Your Novel - Writing, publishing and self-publishing advice from a bestselling ghostwriter and book doctor

Butterflies and Dragons

Leigh Townsend's Adventures in Trying to Get Published

