Snow

30 Nov

Well, it’s snowing and everything has ground to a halt.  The Faber Academy has been cancelled for tonight and we are currently trying to have a discussion about each others’ work online.  It’s going very slowly while everyone types up replies and waits for answers so I thought that I would catch up on a bit of blogging and check back in with the gang in a few minutes.

I’ve received a bit of my critique so far, and I’ve got to spruce up my descriptions in order to give a bit more of my main character’s interior world through her descriptions of her exterior world.  This is going to be a bit of a challenge, but that’s why I’m on the course.  My habit of skimming over descriptions in books is perhaps coming back to haunt me.

5 Responses to “Snow”

  1. Colette December 1, 2010 at 12:45 pm #

    Think you could have a career in writing romance novels.

    Like

    • Julie Gray December 1, 2010 at 12:55 pm #

      well, there’s a thought! I have never read one, but you obviously have, so I will bow to your superior knowledge of Barbara Cartland, or was it Mills & Boon you majored in?

      Like

  2. Colette December 1, 2010 at 11:49 am #

    But why? I’m sure writers put them there for a reason – hopefully not just for their own amusement. I really need to become a much more careful and critical reader (would have come in handy before now!)
    Thanks for being interested.

    Like

    • Julie Gray December 1, 2010 at 12:12 pm #

      good question. I think the majority of us ‘uneducated-in-the-intricacies-of-how-to-write’ readers are just in it for the story line and some well developed characters. I, personally, do not need to know how the water droplets slid off the leaf that just fell from the russet, slowly-dying-in-Fall, ten foot tall tree, which had slivers of the dying embers of the descending ball of fire cutting through the skeletal branches which resemble the arms of Lady Death reaching out to… get my drift. Keep it simple, for me anyway! There is nothing wrong with some good description which adds to the story line, which i assume is what the Faber folks are on about, but some writers drivel on endlessly and lose the plot entirely. Ooops, there is me on my soap box again!

      Like

  3. Julie Gray December 1, 2010 at 11:12 am #

    perhaps there is a reason why the majority of us skim over some overlong, over elaborate descriptive paragraphs?

    Like

Leave a Reply

remixtmag

Remixt: a magazine of multiple perspectives

Scottish Writers' Centre

Company No: SC349247 - Charity No: SC040823

paulahunterblog

Stumbling about gob-smacked by the world

Sarah Tinsley

The Power of Words

Sally Jenkins

A Writer on Writing, Reading and Life

MorgEn Bailey - Editor, Comp Columnist/Judge, Tutor & Writing Guru

A wealth of writing-related goodies from Morgen With An E (writer, editor, tutor, speaker and oh yes, blogger)

The Bath Novel Award

two international competitions for unpublished & independently published novelists

JoUnwin

Helping authors get their books published

Zoë Strachan

News from www.zoestrachan.com

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

The Reading Room (Seòmar Leughaidh)

Promoting all things writerly on the Isle of Skye

Wee Scoops

Measure for Measure

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

CATHERINE RYAN HOWARD

She turns coffee into books so she can afford to buy more coffee. And more books.

Blog About Writing

Just another WordPress.com site

makemeafrock

I make nice frocks and write average poetry. And there's a bit of embroidery and the occasional rant.

Help! I Need a Publisher!

Writing and the Creative Process

Nail Your Novel

Nail Your Novel - Writing, publishing and self-publishing advice from a bestselling ghostwriter and book doctor

