Call this fun

16 Feb

Our post-class pub discussion is always a chance to debrief and get clarification from people about where their story is heading and about the bits we’ve not seen (as we are only getting 1,500 word snippets of people’s novels).  I’ve felt though in the past couple of weeks that I’m really having to defend my characters and justify decisions I haven’t even settled on yet.  I suppose part of the creative process is about all the tiny decisions you make which lead to the big picture, and it can be useful to talk these through. 

I suppose it is good that my characters are alive enough that people want to find out what happens to them and why, but I also have to be careful that I still write the novel that is within me, and not one written by committee.  On that note though, it is interesting that many of the answers I’m being asked for I don’t have yet, as I’ve not got to that bit in the book, and I’ll just have to wait and see what happens to my characters, and how they have to finish their stories.

2 Responses to “Call this fun”

  1. colettecoen February 16, 2011 at 2:53 pm #

    I know. I think I’m just being a bit overly-sensitive. I’m sure everyone is thinking the same thing. We have all admitted to feeling a bit battered and bruised at various points. No one is trying to be nasty, but it also doesn’t help anyone if we pussyfoot around too much. And as you know we artists are such sensitive souls!

    Like

  2. Julie Gray February 16, 2011 at 2:25 pm #

    It sounds a little bit like they are micro-managing you Colette. Is it not best to write the novel first and then get criticism? It must be a little disheartening to have your work questioned when it is not fully formed in your mind yet. Take it all with a pinch of salt and stick to ‘your novel’ and not other people’s idea of what your novel should be. Stick with it chica, it will all come together in the end. No one is an expert here – unless you have millionaire authors in your group….?

    Like

Leave a Reply

Scottish Writers' Centre

Company No: SC349247 - Charity No: SC040823

paulahunterblog

Stumbling about gob-smacked by the world

Sarah Tinsley

The Power of Words

Sally Jenkins

A Writer on Writing, Reading and Life

MorgEn Bailey - Editor, Comp Columnist/Judge, Tutor and Writing Guru

A wealth of writing-related goodies from Morgen With An E (writer, editor, tutor, speaker and oh yes, blogger)

The Bath Novel Award

two international competitions for unpublished & independently published novelists

JoUnwin

Helping authors get their books published

Zoë Strachan

News from www.zoestrachan.com

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

The Reading Room (Seòmar Leughaidh)

Promoting all things writerly on the Isle of Skye

Wee Scoops

Measure for Measure

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

CATHERINE RYAN HOWARD

She turns coffee into books so she can afford to buy more coffee. And more books.

Blog About Writing

Just another WordPress.com site

makemeafrock

I make nice frocks and write average poetry. And there's a bit of embroidery and the occasional rant.

Help! I Need a Publisher!

Writing and the Creative Process

Nail Your Novel

Nail Your Novel - Writing, publishing and self-publishing advice from a bestselling ghostwriter and book doctor

Butterflies and Dragons

Leigh Townsend's Adventures in Trying to Get Published

