Beta Readers

24 Nov

Oh my. Just picked up 8 copies of draft novel to distribute to my Beta Readers who haven’t succumbed to the evils of the ebook reader (although I’m sure it’s on a few Christmas lists). Decided that it was probably cheaper to get my novel printed professionally rather than knacker my printer, and it has given my a tingle down my spine which I don’t think I would have got watching my home printer churn out copies.

Now hole-punching and treasury tagging for distribution later. I sent out some ecopies a couple of nights ago and that was nerve-wracking enough, but handing over physical copies to the nice friends who have agreed to read it will be something else. I’ve told them I don’t want them to be nice, as there is little point in that when I want to make improvements. I think my ego has definitely hardened in the past year with all of the Faber critiques. I’m not totally immune, but I can mainly park the criticism in the rational part of my brain – even if it takes a few days even to feel brave enough to read the comments.

Time to go and hand over first copy – rest tonight at my book group. Yikees.

Leave a Reply

remixtmag

Remixt: a magazine of multiple perspectives

Scottish Writers' Centre

Company No: SC349247 - Charity No: SC040823

paulahunterblog

Stumbling about gob-smacked by the world

Sarah Tinsley

The Power of Words

Sally Jenkins

A Writer on Writing, Reading and Life

MorgEn Bailey - Editor, Comp Columnist/Judge, Tutor & Writing Guru

A wealth of writing-related goodies from Morgen With An E (writer, editor, tutor, speaker and oh yes, blogger)

The Bath Novel Award

two international competitions for unpublished & independently published novelists

JoUnwin

Helping authors get their books published

Zoë Strachan

News from www.zoestrachan.com

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

The Reading Room (Seòmar Leughaidh)

Promoting all things writerly on the Isle of Skye

Wee Scoops

Measure for Measure

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

CATHERINE RYAN HOWARD

She turns coffee into books so she can afford to buy more coffee. And more books.

Blog About Writing

Just another WordPress.com site

makemeafrock

I make nice frocks and write average poetry. And there's a bit of embroidery and the occasional rant.

Help! I Need a Publisher!

Writing and the Creative Process

Nail Your Novel

Nail Your Novel - Writing, publishing and self-publishing advice from a bestselling ghostwriter and book doctor

