Meeting your Idol

22 Sep

This afternoon I’m going to a book signing and will meet an idol. How will it compare with Muriel Spark (who I was lucky enough to hear speak a couple of years before she died)? Well, this is in a different league – today I’m going not for the literature, but for the man. Thirty-one years ago Planet Earth was released, and I was hooked. Over the next four years or so I ate, drank and slept Duran Duran – nothing compared to them, in particular the beautiful John Taylor. And it’s him I’m going to see. I can’t tell you how many adolescent dreams I had about him, but I can tell you that I might have got a better result in my Chemistry Higher if I hadn’t spent every class dreaming I was on a beach with him in Sri Lanka. Mind you, it was maybe then that I the seed of my novel All the Places I’ve Ever Been was planted – about a girl who runs off with a rock band (although being an adult now, it’s much darker than my teenage fantasies).

So, back to the point in hand of meeting your idols – I’m told you shouldn’t and my initial reaction when I read about the book signing (of his autobiography – http://www.amazon.co.uk/Pleasure-Groove-Love-Death-Duran/dp/0751549045/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1348307658&sr=1-1) was that I wouldn’t go. I’m not sure why I had that reaction, maybe I just want him to stay in my dreams as a 22 year old. But I’m going and I’ll try to behave myself, not swoon, or scream, or offer to run off to Rio with him.  I’ll let you know how I get on.

Leave a Reply

Scottish Writers' Centre

Company No: SC349247 - Charity No: SC040823

paulahunterblog

Stumbling about gob-smacked by the world

Sarah Tinsley

The Power of Words

Sally Jenkins

A Writer on Writing, Reading and Life

MorgEn Bailey - Editor, Comp Columnist/Judge, Writing Guru

A wealth of writing-related goodies from Morgen With An E (writer, editor, tutor, speaker and oh yes, blogger)

The Bath Novel Award

two international competitions for unpublished & independently published novelists

JoUnwin

Helping authors get their books published

Zoë Strachan

News from www.zoestrachan.com

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

The Reading Room (Seòmar Leughaidh)

Promoting all things writerly on the Isle of Skye

Wee Scoops

Measure for Measure

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

CATHERINE RYAN HOWARD

She turns coffee into books so she can afford to buy more coffee. And more books.

Blog About Writing

Just another WordPress.com site

makemeafrock

I make nice frocks and write average poetry. And there's a bit of embroidery and the occasional rant.

Help! I Need a Publisher!

Writing and the Creative Process

Nail Your Novel

Nail Your Novel - Writing, publishing and self-publishing advice from a bestselling ghostwriter and book doctor

Butterflies and Dragons

Leigh Townsend's Adventures in Trying to Get Published

