Moniak Mhor Writers’ Retreat Days 1 & 2

23 Nov

22/11/12 Left early yesterday to drive up to Moniak Mhor Writers’ Retreat in a terrible storm. Amber warnings abounded, and at one point we had to drive through a flood, but we made it here to the Highlands safe and sound by early afternoon.

This is my first time at a retreat of any sort while many of the rest of the group – Glasgow University Writers have been before. The place is everything I imagined it to be – monastic cell (although with nicer furniture and comfortable bed) and a view out to the wilds of Scotland.

I was a bit worried that the weekend would disappear quickly with lots of chatting over coffee, but the great thing about coming away with serious writers is that there is a lot of serious writing going on. So there is no way I’ll let myself squander this opportunity of time and space and no domestic concerns and not put in some major effort myself. It is after all what I’ve been dreaming of and what dear old Ms Wolfe recommended. It’s interesting though that some prefer to write with the other’s about and some, like myself have shut ourselves away.

By evening another three folk had arrived, and yes, there is drinking of wine and there is talking into the wee small hours, but that’s all part of the fun and part of being alive.

 

23/11/12 Today some of us managed a very quick walk after lunch and although we walked in the rain we made it back just as the rain was turning to something decidedly whiter, hopefully the five people travelling today get up here safe and sound. Still the house is really cosy and it’s great to have uninterrupted time to write – we’ve even got a cook, so we only have to worry about getting breakfast and lunch sorted ourselves.

 

 

So what of the writing. Well when we were talking about our writing last night I was still really unsure if I was going to tackle novel two. I’ve started and stopped it a couple of times before and there is so much that I want to do differently that I wondered if it wouldn’t just be easier to leave it forever and do something different.

Now though I feel totally different about it. I’ve had a good morning’s work on it, and I can begin to see that I can write it into the book I want it to be. There are many things that I thought I had written that have only existed in my head, and more that I’ve decided should go in now, to make it a more interesting story. So I’m feeling really good about things. It’s only half past two, and I’ve no school run to do, no clubs to take children to, just me and my laptop and dodgy internet connections and not forgetting a long-suffering husband at home.

Gave up about 5pm, totally burned out, but hopefully only for today. Photos tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

Scottish Writers' Centre

Company No: SC349247 - Charity No: SC040823

paulahunterblog

Stumbling about gob-smacked by the world

Sarah Tinsley

The Power of Words

Sally Jenkins

A Writer on Writing, Reading and Life

MorgEn Bailey - Editor, Comp Columnist/Judge, Tutor and Writing Guru

A wealth of writing-related goodies from Morgen With An E (writer, editor, tutor, speaker and oh yes, blogger)

The Bath Novel Award

two international competitions for unpublished & independently published novelists

JoUnwin

Helping authors get their books published

Zoë Strachan

News from www.zoestrachan.com

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

The Reading Room (Seòmar Leughaidh)

Promoting all things writerly on the Isle of Skye

Wee Scoops

Measure for Measure

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

CATHERINE RYAN HOWARD

She turns coffee into books so she can afford to buy more coffee. And more books.

Blog About Writing

Just another WordPress.com site

makemeafrock

I make nice frocks and write average poetry. And there's a bit of embroidery and the occasional rant.

Help! I Need a Publisher!

Writing and the Creative Process

Nail Your Novel

Nail Your Novel - Writing, publishing and self-publishing advice from a bestselling ghostwriter and book doctor

Butterflies and Dragons

Leigh Townsend's Adventures in Trying to Get Published

