Days 2/3 – Moniak Mhor

24 Nov

Evening 2

Two more sets of arrivals bringing our total to 13. One of the guys I’ve never met before and one of the girls I’ve met only once, but it’s good to mix things up a bit. They arrived just as we were eating another great meal – having a cook is fantastic and I would thoroughly recommend that anyone going away in a group investigates the possibility.

Five o’clock has been officially designated wine o’clock but I’m saving myself until dinner time. It’s not that I’m particularly abstemious, but I’ve found recently that if I start too early I just fall asleep by nine o’clock (which isn’t much fun). As with all large groups the conversations have had to splinter off rather than us all having one discussion, but it’s all good fun and good humoured.

We had a bit of a reading session which I kicked off last night, but one of the girls likes candles so I read just by the light of my laptop. If I’d been sober I might have chosen different pieces to read, but I got through two flash fiction pieces without incident, although the second one had an action which I think was invisible in the dark.

Got to bed at a reasonable-ish hour i.e. half twelve rather than half two, and up bright and breezy today.

Day 3

Had a good morning and knocked off the end of Chapter One of my new novel which I’m feeling reasonably happy with and did a bit of re-formatting of my next e-book 1000 Sleepless Nights (although it still requires quite a bit of editing). But since lunch I’ve been unable to settle. I’ve never really been one for sitting down for hours at a time – every job I’ve ever had has involved quite a bit of movement interspersed with some desk work, but whether I was a librarian, lecturer or supermarket assistant there was the opportunity for movement.

When I working at home there is always something domestic needing attention, so I can interrupt my writing with hanging up washing or emptying the dish-washer or the occasional (very) hoover of the carpet. But here I feel a bit more confined (even though there is the wild countryside around me – I’m much more of an interiors/civilisation person.

After lunch I went on the emergency run which we’re calling the milk run (and we did actually remember to buy milk), but was actually the wine and gin run to Drumnadrochet (???) a small village on the side of Loch Ness. I kept my eyes peeled for the monster, but this time didn’t see it (although I’ve got a good story about the last time I was here and something very mysterious emerged from the Loch). Just being in the car good – I don’t know if the fact that the house is busier today with our full complement of 13, or I’m feeling homesick, but I definitely needed to go to what I laughingly called civilisation. I did see some people, and was in 3 whole different shops – the search for tonic water was extensive, and I don’t even drink gin.

Anyway, now I’ve read a bit of The Guardian and spoken to my husband I think I’m going to try to complete a short story which I popped in my rather large bag of things-to-do this weekend.

Onwards and upwards before the wine gets opened again.

Leave a Reply

Scottish Writers' Centre

Company No: SC349247 - Charity No: SC040823

paulahunterblog

Stumbling about gob-smacked by the world

Sarah Tinsley

The Power of Words

Sally Jenkins

A Writer on Writing, Reading and Life

MorgEn Bailey - Creative Writing Guru

A wealth of writing-related goodies from Morgen With An E (writer, editor, tutor, speaker and oh yes, blogger)

The Bath Novel Award

two international competitions for unpublished & independently published novelists

JoUnwin

Helping authors get their books published

Zoë Strachan

News from www.zoestrachan.com

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

The Reading Room (Seòmar Leughaidh)

Promoting all things writerly on the Isle of Skye

Wee Scoops

Measure for Measure

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

CATHERINE RYAN HOWARD

She turns coffee into books so she can afford to buy more coffee. And more books.

Blog About Writing

Just another WordPress.com site

makemeafrock

I make nice frocks and write average poetry. And there's a bit of embroidery and the occasional rant.

Help! I Need a Publisher!

Writing and the Creative Process

Nail Your Novel

Nail Your Novel - Writing, publishing and self-publishing advice from a bestselling ghostwriter and book doctor

Butterflies and Dragons

Leigh Townsend's Adventures in Trying to Get Published

