Moniack Mhor – The Final Chapter

3 Dec

When I set up this blog I said it was to be about writing and the life that conspired to get in the way of it, well unfortunately last week it was death that got in the way of it. My uncle passed away peacefully the day after I returned from Moniack so my final blog about our weekend away didn’t happen, so here it is now.

Evening 3

Started our reading session much earlier tonight which meant that we were all a bit more sober and had time for all those who hadn’t read the night before to perform. We began with a rather surreal experience of acting out a murder scene from one of our group’s novel. Set in the Highlands in the snow I have to admit I was a bit unsettled being in the Highlands in the snow and having a knife held to my throat (albeit a butter knife). Help P work out some logistics and she managed to persuade someone else to read for her ( a cunning trick). Then we had a very wide range of readings – some very poetic (building on images we had seen over the weekend), others thoughtful and then the funny ones. It’s one style of writing that I’ve never really tried and I think it has to be tackled soon. I’m very jealous of people who can do it. I can make people laugh when I’m telling tales out loud but can’t even begin to think how I would commit them to paper.

Day 4

Home time. Quick hour of work after a long breakfast that included lots of orange juice and coffee (which I would later regret – 4 hour journey home – very full bladder). Then it was time to pack up the laptop and the jumpers and head south again. It was lovely on the way home to actually see some scenery as we had driven up in such heavy rain that we didn’t even see the Cairngorms at the roadside. Coming home was great – I’d really missed my family – but sad as well as it was time for writing to be go from top/only priority to something that has to get fit around other things. Mind you I’m not sure how well I would cope if I shut myself away. I’m all for a balance and for getting it right.

Still to get photos on – I know I’m terrible.

One Response to “Moniack Mhor – The Final Chapter”

  1. ellenarnison27 December 4, 2012 at 9:52 am #

    Sorry to hear about your uncle.
    But the writing weekend sounds amazing and I can’t wait to join in the next one.
    I know what you mean about writing humour. It’s interesting though, I can’t tell a joke and make people laugh in real life, but, very occasionally, I can do it in writing.

    Like

Leave a Reply

remixtmag

Remixt: a magazine of multiple perspectives

Scottish Writers' Centre

Company No: SC349247 - Charity No: SC040823

paulahunterblog

Stumbling about gob-smacked by the world

Sarah Tinsley

The Power of Words

Sally Jenkins

A Writer on Writing, Reading and Life

MorgEn Bailey - Editor, Comp Columnist/Judge, Tutor & Writing Guru

A wealth of writing-related goodies from Morgen With An E (writer, editor, tutor, speaker and oh yes, blogger)

The Bath Novel Award

two international competitions for unpublished & independently published novelists

JoUnwin

Helping authors get their books published

Zoë Strachan

News from www.zoestrachan.com

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

The Reading Room (Seòmar Leughaidh)

Promoting all things writerly on the Isle of Skye

Wee Scoops

Measure for Measure

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

CATHERINE RYAN HOWARD

She turns coffee into books so she can afford to buy more coffee. And more books.

Blog About Writing

Just another WordPress.com site

makemeafrock

I make nice frocks and write average poetry. And there's a bit of embroidery and the occasional rant.

Help! I Need a Publisher!

Writing and the Creative Process

Nail Your Novel

Nail Your Novel - Writing, publishing and self-publishing advice from a bestselling ghostwriter and book doctor

