Turning my spreadsheet green

17 Jan

Well here we are two weeks in to the new year and I can report that I’ve been turning my spreadsheet green. I think I should explain – because life, work and family tend to take up rather a lot of time and head space when I do settle down to work I want it to be productive. I’m also a bit of a control freak and a pessimist so keeping a spreadsheet of my work really helps.

First I’ve created a worksheet for the year called Goals 2013, then I note down all the competitions, submissions and other writerly task generally needing done in a list, with deadlines filtered so they appear in order. I also put down the weblinks which saves loads of time when I go back to check on competition rules/guidelines etc.

Then I’ve got another sheet with all my short stories listed, with the magazines/comps that I’ve submitted to listed, with dates that they’ve been sent off and the date that I should expect to hear.

Then there’s the colourful part – I colour code everything. On my goals website I’ve got priorities colour coded, although they tend either to be HIGH in red, or just left blank. Then when I send something off I put in my Achievements column the date I’ve sent it off and highlight it green.

On my Submission worksheet I’ve got a more complex system with Blue for’ it’s nowhere/still needing work’; Yellow for ‘it’s out in the world’ and Green for’ Hooray it’s been accepted.’

So my plan for the year is to turn as much as I can Green. I know that all the goals won’t be met (as really they’re mainly a list of possibilities) but it’s great to get over the pessimism to see that I am achieving things and turning them Green.

Want to start your own list, here’s some suggestions of competitions and submissions that are open at the moment – let me know how you get on turning them green:

http://www.myriadeditions.com/Competition

http://www.writersandartists.co.uk/competitions

http://www.thewhitereview.org/the-white-review-prize/

http://www.pushingouttheboat.co.uk

http://www.booktrust.org.uk/prizes-and-awards/1

One Response to “Turning my spreadsheet green”

  1. ellenarnison27 January 18, 2013 at 9:25 am #

    Colette, this is inspiring. Also inconvenienced by life, work and family, I tend to find myself ramming writing into the tiny spaces left. This would give it a sense of purpose.
    And thanks too for the links to the competitions – I’ll put them at the top of my new Writing list.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Scottish Writers' Centre

Company No: SC349247 - Charity No: SC040823

paulahunterblog

Stumbling about gob-smacked by the world

Sarah Tinsley

The Power of Words

Sally Jenkins

A Writer on Writing, Reading and Life

MorgEn Bailey - Editor, Comp Columnist/Judge, Writing Guru

A wealth of writing-related goodies from Morgen With An E (writer, editor, tutor, speaker and oh yes, blogger)

The Bath Novel Award

two international competitions for unpublished & independently published novelists

JoUnwin

Helping authors get their books published

Zoë Strachan

News from www.zoestrachan.com

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

The Reading Room (Seòmar Leughaidh)

Promoting all things writerly on the Isle of Skye

Wee Scoops

Measure for Measure

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

CATHERINE RYAN HOWARD

She turns coffee into books so she can afford to buy more coffee. And more books.

Blog About Writing

Just another WordPress.com site

makemeafrock

I make nice frocks and write average poetry. And there's a bit of embroidery and the occasional rant.

Help! I Need a Publisher!

Writing and the Creative Process

Nail Your Novel

Nail Your Novel - Writing, publishing and self-publishing advice from a bestselling ghostwriter and book doctor

Butterflies and Dragons

Leigh Townsend's Adventures in Trying to Get Published

