Pitch Live Event

4 Oct

Well, it’s been a couple of weeks now since the Pitch Live event run by NAWE and I think I’ve finally digested all that was said (unlike my sick son who can’t digest anything at the moment).  I had a one-to-one meeting with Clare Hey which despite her total loveliness was absolutely terrifying. Her initial comments about music themed books (which mine is) being difficult to sell knocked me for six, but then I thought about Roddy Doyle and Nick Hornby and Rose Tremain (not rock, but none the less), and decided not to be too discouraged. She gave me really useful feedback on my submission and today I’ve been re-writing my synopsis (even though all the agents and publishers at the event claimed they hardly ever read them) and agent’s letter template (which they do) .

The one thing which struck me very forcefully was how much all the agents, and publishers for that matter are looking for a very personalised submission letter. I’ve read this in loads of other places, but have to admit that I thought it was a bit sycophantic to tell the agents how much you love all the other things they’ve ever published, even when you do ( I think there is something deep in the Scottish psyche which acts as a break on ever praising anything too much).

Managed to sneak in a quick visit to the ManRay exhibition when I was in Edinburgh, which was fantastic if very busy – first trip ever to Scottish Portrait Gallery, but won’t be my last.

All of the above, but mainly caring for sick child, means there’s not be much new writing going on at this end, but I have been managing to do quite a bit of research and general reading to help me find my perfect agent. Also my writers’ group has been re-invigorated by three new members who I’m sure will be worthy replacements for those who have left over the past year. One is focusing on plays, which is a bit of departure for the group, but some of the others have been playing with drama recently too, so I might be tempted to try again,..

 

Leave a Reply

remixtmag

Remixt: a magazine of multiple perspectives

Scottish Writers' Centre

Company No: SC349247 - Charity No: SC040823

paulahunterblog

Stumbling about gob-smacked by the world

Sarah Tinsley

The Power of Words

Sally Jenkins

A Writer on Writing, Reading and Life

MorgEn Bailey - Editor, Comp Columnist/Judge, Tutor & Writing Guru

A wealth of writing-related goodies from Morgen With An E (writer, editor, tutor, speaker and oh yes, blogger)

The Bath Novel Award

two international competitions for unpublished & independently published novelists

JoUnwin

Helping authors get their books published

Zoë Strachan

News from www.zoestrachan.com

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

The Reading Room (Seòmar Leughaidh)

Promoting all things writerly on the Isle of Skye

Wee Scoops

Measure for Measure

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

CATHERINE RYAN HOWARD

She turns coffee into books so she can afford to buy more coffee. And more books.

Blog About Writing

Just another WordPress.com site

makemeafrock

I make nice frocks and write average poetry. And there's a bit of embroidery and the occasional rant.

Help! I Need a Publisher!

Writing and the Creative Process

Nail Your Novel

Nail Your Novel - Writing, publishing and self-publishing advice from a bestselling ghostwriter and book doctor

