Update on Countdown Deal

1 Apr

So, my Kindle Countdown Deal has been running for 24 hours, and I am amazed at how successful it has been, moving me from a ranking round about 1,500,000 (yes all those zeros should be there), to 2,896 in General Fiction, 350 in Women’s Fiction, and 185 in YA. Okay, so I cut the price from £3.99 for an ebook to 99p yesterday, £1.99 today, and £2.99 tomorrow, but I’m shifting units, and building a bit of momentum.

In terms of marketing, I’ve been posting in lots of the Facebook groups I’m a member of, but the one with the most traction has been my old school. All the Places I’ve Ever Been does start in the mid 80s in Glasgow, (though it then takes the protagonist around the World), so there is an obvious attraction for people who know the time and/or place. I think the ‘oh I remember her’ also helps.

I did dip my toes in the water of pay-per-click advertising a few weeks ago, but I must admit once I reached about £25 spend for £5 profit, I thought it was time to stop. I know other people who have used this method more successfully, but I think it probably works best if you are selling higher ticket items with a bigger profit margin.

I’d totally forgotten to Tweet about the deal yesterday (can’t really get into Twitter), so I’m off to do that now.

I’ll give another update tomorrow, where I might even admit how obsessively I’ve been checking the sales figures – well, it is exciting finding people who want to read what you’ve written.

Bye for now

 

Leave a Reply

Scottish Writers' Centre

Company No: SC349247 - Charity No: SC040823

paulahunterblog

Stumbling about gob-smacked by the world

Sarah Tinsley

The Power of Words

Sally Jenkins

A Writer on Writing, Reading and Life

MorgEn Bailey - Editor, Comp Columnist/Judge, Writing Guru

A wealth of writing-related goodies from Morgen With An E (writer, editor, tutor, speaker and oh yes, blogger)

The Bath Novel Award

two international competitions for unpublished & independently published novelists

JoUnwin

Helping authors get their books published

Zoë Strachan

News from www.zoestrachan.com

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

The Reading Room (Seòmar Leughaidh)

Promoting all things writerly on the Isle of Skye

Wee Scoops

Measure for Measure

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

CATHERINE RYAN HOWARD

She turns coffee into books so she can afford to buy more coffee. And more books.

Blog About Writing

Just another WordPress.com site

makemeafrock

I make nice frocks and write average poetry. And there's a bit of embroidery and the occasional rant.

Help! I Need a Publisher!

Writing and the Creative Process

Nail Your Novel

Nail Your Novel - Writing, publishing and self-publishing advice from a bestselling ghostwriter and book doctor

Butterflies and Dragons

Leigh Townsend's Adventures in Trying to Get Published

