Who Would Be a Full-Time Writer?

19 May

A couple of times in my life I’ve walked away from paid employment with the purpose of giving writing a more prominent place in my life, and twice I’ve found myself very quickly swallowed back into the work. I did manage to produce a bit of writing during these times, but not enough that earned money.

Now, I’d be happy with being a part-time writer. My current job in a supermarket was specifically intended to keep my mind free of distractions for writing, give me a short commute, and have time over for the family. While things do sometimes go to plan, there are other weeks and months when it is difficult to get any time at all to work. I’m actually finding it hard even to concentrate on reading fiction at the moment (and have gone from being one of the class pets at my book group to being a very naughty girl, just turning up for the chat).

But life is all about choices, and how I choose to spend my time. At the moment I’ve decided not to torment myself with hitting weekly targets, but to be content with anything I manage to do. I’ve got some research reading to do, and one TV programme which I think might help inform a sub-plot. I’ve also got an interview to do with the main inspiration for my novel – my mum – so that keeps the novel moving, even if I’m not writing ten of thousands of words a month.

The days that I don’t work and should have for writing, just aren’t happening at the moment, but I choose to do other things with them (helping out with care commitments). I’ll still dream about living the life of a writer, although I just read an interview with Jacqueline Wilson who said it is a rare day when all she has to do it write. So, I need to make the most of the snatched minutes and hours and hopefully the words will build up into something wonderful.

One Response to “Who Would Be a Full-Time Writer?”

  1. daddysco.com May 19, 2016 at 7:14 pm #

    Best of luck with your endevours! Finding writing time when busy with other things is so tricky. I have an A5 size notebook and I try to write just one page, five days a week and even that doesn’t happen half the time. After trying a novel I realised it was going to take too long so decided short stories would be better and then flash fiction and now poems and blogging posts. Soon it will just be post-it notes stuck on the fridge!

    Like

Leave a Reply

Scottish Writers' Centre

Company No: SC349247 - Charity No: SC040823

paulahunterblog

Stumbling about gob-smacked by the world

Sarah Tinsley

The Power of Words

Sally Jenkins

A Writer on Writing, Reading and Life

MorgEn Bailey - Editor, Comp Columnist/Judge, Writing Guru

A wealth of writing-related goodies from Morgen With An E (writer, editor, tutor, speaker and oh yes, blogger)

The Bath Novel Award

two international competitions for unpublished & independently published novelists

JoUnwin

Helping authors get their books published

Zoë Strachan

News from www.zoestrachan.com

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

The Reading Room (Seòmar Leughaidh)

Promoting all things writerly on the Isle of Skye

Wee Scoops

Measure for Measure

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

CATHERINE RYAN HOWARD

She turns coffee into books so she can afford to buy more coffee. And more books.

Blog About Writing

Just another WordPress.com site

makemeafrock

I make nice frocks and write average poetry. And there's a bit of embroidery and the occasional rant.

Help! I Need a Publisher!

Writing and the Creative Process

Nail Your Novel

Nail Your Novel - Writing, publishing and self-publishing advice from a bestselling ghostwriter and book doctor

Butterflies and Dragons

Leigh Townsend's Adventures in Trying to Get Published

